It’s coming!

I received the email from CreateSpace this morning, they are printing and shipping my author copy! According to my calculations I should receive it by my birthday on the 18th. That would be an amazing present!

The second digital proof was fine and I got it early. I had emailed CreateSpace both to tell them about the spacing issue and to express my dismay that the proof was now coming up as being ready by 10th March. Another lengthy wait? I advised I need it by the 6th and I had it by the 6th – it was the 5th their time actually when I received it. Happy with their quick response to my query and having the proof ready early.

After the cover designer tweaked the spine size to match the final page count, I submitted everything and was pleasantly surprised this morning to receive the email that the proof would be on its way soon. I was worried for a moment as I’d been intending to order it via priority shipping but double checking their shipping method confirmed that they would also be sending it priority.

I hope that my next update is a picture of MY book. It’s amazing to think that it’s almost available for purchase. I set my prices and distribution channels yesterday also. It’s an exciting time. I am hoping the physical copy is perfect so I can move on to the next phase – pressing that magic publish button!

There is so much to think about. Next steps are certainly to ramp up marketing and work out ways to get my book into some local stores if possible. I have made preliminary enquiries with book stores who support independent authors. There is one who has responded positively and I will be sending them a copy as soon as I receive the first batch of books.

I will be counting the days until the book arrives, that’s for sure!

Leave a comment